flexible scapes

flexible scapes places the experience of a walk at the centre of an interactive audiovisual installation. For this, walks are filmed from a first-person perspective and high-quality audio recordings of the environments (3D audio) are created.

flexible scapes
flexible scapes

media installation

During the Corona pandemic, many people created a free space within the spatial and social restrictions of the lockdown by strolling in urban areas or in nature. Strolling creates space for free thinking. It draws attention to hearing, seeing and smelling the immediate surroundings, and sometimes the steady movement helps us to slip into a kind of meditative flow state.

Users walk on a mechanical treadmill equipped with a speed sensor and biofeedback sensors in an audiovisual environment. While the video level moves along the filmed reality in first-person view, the sound level is a hybrid of field recordings and an adaptive sound composition - open to change through user behaviour. The abstract audio material of this composition associatively interprets the landscapes in which the real walks took place. What sounds and how is determined by the change in walking pace and the biofeedback of the user's body; at the same time, the head movement of the walkers is tracked by a camera. This data output controls a sound event whose "personalised" dynamics reinforce the feeling of being in the middle.

Flexible Scapes aims to create an augmented sonic reality through the mediatised perception of landscapes and soundscapes, into which sound fragments generated by physical participation in the process are infiltrated. In analogy to the wandering thoughts during a real walk, at the moment of interaction with the installation, the perceptive events are formalised and (in a kind of feedback loop) made the basis of themselves.

2021
Date/Location

Project start 2021

Erstinstallation
Ein Projekt von

Fränk Zimmer

Projektpartner

Supported by Ministère de la Culture, Luxemburg.

Projekttyp
MEDIA ART
MUSIC & FILM

flexible scapes

flexible scapes stellt die Erfahrung eines Spaziergangs in den Mittelpunkt einer interaktiven audiovisuellen Installation. Dafür werden Spaziergänge aus der Ich-Perspektive gefilmt und hochwertige Audio- Aufnahmen der Umgebungen (3D-Audio) erstellt.

flexible scapes
flexible scapes

Medieninstallation

Viele Menschen haben sich während der Corona-Pandemie mit Flanieren im urbanen Raum oder in der Natur einen Freiraum innerhalb den räumlichen und sozialen Beschränkungen des Lockdowns, geschaffen. Das Spazierengehen schafft Raum zum freien Denken. Es lenkt die Aufmerksamkeit auf das Hören, das Sehen und das Riechen der unmittelbaren Umgebung.Manchmal befördert die gleichmäßige Bewegung das Hinübergleiten in eine Art meditativen Flow-Zustand.

User*innen bewegen sich gehend auf einem mechanischen, mit einem Geschwindigkeitssensor und Biofeedbacksensoren ausgestatteten Laufband in einem audiovisuellen Environment. Während sich die Videoebene entlang der gefilmten Realität im First-Person-View bewegt, ist die Klangebene ein Hybrid aus Field-Recordings und einer adaptiven – ihrer Veränderung durch User-Verhalten gegenüber offenen – Klangkomposition. Das abstrakte Audiomaterial dieser Komposition interpretiert auf assoziative Weise die Landschaften, in denen die realen Spaziergänge stattgefunden haben. Was wie erklingt, wird durch die die Veränderung des Schritttempos und das Biofeedback des Körpers der User*in bestimmt, gleichzeitig wird die Kopfbewegung der Gehenden durch eine Kamera getrackt. Dieser Daten-Output steuert ein Klanggeschehen, dessen gleichsam „personalisierte“ Dynamik das Gefühl des Mittendrinseins verstärkt.

Flexible Scapes zielt darauf ab, durch die mediatisierte Wahrnehmung von Landscapes und Soundscapes, in die durch die körperliche Beteiligung am Prozess erzeugte Klangfragmente eingeschleust werden, eine Augmented Sonic Reality zu schaffen. In Analogie zu den umher-schweifenden Gedanken während eines realen Spaziergangs wird im Moment der Interaktion mit der Installation das perzeptive Geschehen formalisiert und (in einer Art Feedback-Schleife) zur Grundlage ihrer selbst gemacht.

2021
Date/Location

Projektstart 2021

Erstinstallation
Ein Projekt von

Fränk Zimmer

Projektpartner

Unterstützt durch das Ministère de la Culture, Luxemburg.

Projekttyp
MEDIA ART
MUSIC & FILM